Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Wuerffel Trophy, Coaches' All-SEC Team Selected

Alabama offensive lineman Barrett Jones has been awarded the coveted Wuerffel Trophy for 2011.

Named after former Florida quarterback and Heisman winner Danny Wuerffel, the award is presented to the FBS player who achieves high standards not only on the field, but in the classroom and in the community.

Jones, who graduated from the University of Alabama in August with a 4.0 GPA, has done mission labor in Haiti and has been recognized for his relief efforts following the April 27 tornado in Tuscaloosa.

The Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to Jones on Feb. 17 at the All Sports Association Awards Dinner in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

2011 Coaches' All-SEC Football Team

-Alabama had 11 players selected.
-The Crimson Tide led the second-team with a total of five players selected.
-Wide receiver/return specialist Marquis Maze earned two positions on the second-team.
-Coaches were prohibited to vote for their own players.

First-Team Offense

OL-Barrett Jones
C-William Vlachos
RB-Trent Richardson

First-Team Defense

LB-Dont’a Hightower
LB-Courtney Upshaw
DB-Mark Barron

Second-Team Offense

OL-Chance Warmack
WR-Marquis Maze

Second-Team Defense

DL-Josh Chapman
DB-Dre Kirkpatrick

Second-Team Special Teams

RS-Marquis Maze

What's Your Favorite Flavor? E

No comments:

Post a Comment