Monday, December 5, 2011

Tide Players Receive AP and Coaches’ Honors

University of Alabama running back Trent Richardson has been named the Associated Press SEC Offensive Player of the Year as well as being named to the AP SEC first-team.

First-team selection honors were also awarded to center William Vlachos, offensive lineman Barrett Jones, safety Mark Barron, and linebacker Courtney Upshaw.

Linebacker Dont’a Hightower, nose guard Josh Chapman, and defensive back Dre Kirkpatrick were selected to the AP SEC second-team.

In similar proceedings, a total of five Crimson Tide players have been named to the 2011 AFCA FBS Coaches’ All-American Team.

Those players include, RB Trent Richardson, OL Barrett Jones, LB Dont’a Hightower, S Mark Barron, and DB DeQuan Menzie.

As the description would imply, FBS coaches perform the duty of player selection.

No comments:

Post a Comment