Friday, December 9, 2011

The Honored Tide: 2011 College Football Awards

Postseason honors continue to mount for the Alabama Crimson Tide football team.

Thursday night at the 2011 Home Depot College Football Awards several members of the Crimson Tide, including the program as a whole, received awards acknowledging on and off the field excellence.

Running back Trent Richardson received the coveted Doak Walker Award which is presented to the nation’s best running back. Richardson is the first running back in Crimson Tide history to win the award.

‘Bama offensive lineman Barrett Jones earned the Outland Trophy which is presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman. Jones is the third player in Alabama history (Chris Samuels-1999, Andre Smith-2008) to receive the award.

RB Trent Richardson, OL Barrett Jones, LB Dont’a Hightower, and DB Mark Barron were named to the Walter Camp All-America First-Team, while
C William Vlachos and LB Courtney Upshaw received All-America Second-Team honors.

With a total of four players chosen, Alabama had the most players selected to the Walter Camp All-America First-Team.

Without question the most emotional moment of the night came when the University of Alabama football program, represented by long snapper Carson Tinker, received the Disney Spirit Award.

Alabama was selected for the award due to the overall response and recovery efforts following the tornado that devastated the city of Tuscaloosa on the afternoon of April 27.

Shop Reeses Brand Candy & Gifts

No comments:

Post a Comment