Thursday, July 1, 2010

Mark Ingram Named SEC Male Athlete of the Year

OXFORD, MS - OCTOBER 10: Mark Ingram #22 of the Alabama Crimson Tide runs for a 36-yard touchdown in their college football game against the Mississippi Rebels at Vaught-Hemingway Stadium on October 10, 2009 in Oxford, Mississippi. (Photo by Dave Martin/Getty Images)
Alabama Crimson Tide running back Mark Ingram has been named the SEC’s Male Athlete of the Year.

Star gymnast Susan Jackson of LSU was honored as the Female Athlete of the Year. Both awards are voted upon by the athletics directors from each school in the SEC.

Ingram, the defending Heisman Trophy winner, becomes the first Alabama athlete to win the Roy F. Kramer Award since 2004.

The coveted award dates back to 1976, and Ingram is now the ninth athlete in University of Alabama history to receive the prestigious honor.

Ingram is only the third football player in school history to be named the SEC Male Athlete of the Year. In 1987 former 'Bama great Cornelius Bennett won the award, and in 1989 the late Derrick Thomas received the honor.

The most recent Alabama recipient in any capacity was Tide gymnast Jeana Rice in 2004.

Mark Ingram will now take the place of former Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, who won the esteemed honor the past two seasons.

No comments:

Post a Comment