Monday, December 3, 2012

Dial’s status in question after controversial hit

The Alabama Crimson Tide will play for the national championship, but the playing status of defensive lineman Quinton Dial is very much in jeopardy.

With less than two minutes to play in the initial half of the SEC title game, Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray was intercepted by Alabama safety Ha’Sean Clinton-Dix. As Clinton-Dix returned the ball, Murray, who was physically “absent” in respect to the latter stages of the play, was ferociously “steamrolled” by Dial which drew the ire of many, most notably Gary Danielson of CBS Sports.

While a penalty was not called on the field, the hit, which did appear unnecessary given the flow of the play, has garnered plenty of attention.

The NCAA has clear rules when it comes to “targeting” and striking a “defenseless” player in the neck or head. Based on the replay, it would appear that Dial did indeed violate the NCAA rule in question.

What does the SEC have to say?

SEC Commissioner Mike Slive will have to review the tape and make a final decision, but according to Steve Shaw, the SEC coordinator of officials, a penalty should have been called on Dial for his actions.

The court of public opinion, has had, and will continue to have, many “verdicts” on this matter, but in the end, Dial’s fate in respect to his participation in the BCS national championship game, will rest in the hands of Mike Slive.

The hit in question…

TomTom Go Confidently

No comments:

Post a Comment