Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Crimson Tide Preseason Honors

As the 2010 college football season approaches, the Football Writers Association of America have announced the “watch lists” for the Outland Trophy and Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Several members of the Alabama Crimson Tide have been recognized as candidates for both the Nagurski and Outland for the 2010 campaign.

AUBURN, AL - NOVEMBER 27:  Mark Barron #4 of the Alabama Crimson Tide against the Auburn Tigers at Jordan-Hare Stadium on November 27, 2009 in Auburn, Alabama.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Bronko Nagurski Trophy:
-Mark Barron (Safety)
-Marcell Dareus (Defensive Lineman)
-Dont’a Hightower (Linebacker)

Outland Trophy:
-James Carpenter (Offensive Lineman)
-Barrett Jones (Offensive Lineman)

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is presented each year to the best defensive player in the nation. The award is presented by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

During the course of the season additional players (who were not included in the preseason index) can be added to the list of candidates. On Nov. 18 the list will be reduced to five finalists, and those players will vie for the award.

The famed Outland Trophy is awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in the nation. The award is selected and presented by the FWAA and is currently the third-oldest award in college football. The Outland Trophy has been presented annually since 1946.

In similar fashion to the Nagurski Trophy, players can be added to the “watch list” over the course of the season. During the month of November a total of three finalists will be chosen, and those athletes will attend the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show. During the ceremony the winner will be officially announced.

TUSCALOOSA, AL - OCTOBER 24:  Julio Jones #8 of the Alabama Crimson Tide against the Tennessee Volunteers at Bryant-Denny Stadium on October 24, 2009 in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
In other news, a total of six Alabama players have been named to the Sporting News 2010 Preseason All-America team.

Tide running back Mark Ingram was a first-team choice, while Julio Jones, Marcell Dareus, Dont’a Hightower, and Mark Barron were allotted to the second-team. Offensive lineman Barrett Jones rounds out the squad as a third-team selection.

Football is certainly a "team sport" and individual recognition doesn't mean anything in the big picture. However, it takes a group of individuals to fuel a well-oiled machine.

Alabama fans should be proud and excited about the collection of talent that will hit the field this fall.

10% Off Carrot Ink Products Today!

No comments:

Post a Comment