Friday, April 16, 2010

Crimson Notes 4/16/10: A-Day Game Edition

Image Hosting by
(AP Photo/ Butch Dill)

As the Alabama Crimson Tide enter the 2010 season, the annual spring game will be the first time the general public will get to see what ‘Bama has “under the hood” for the upcoming season.

As we all know, Nick Saban is not one to hand out compliments left and right at any opportunity. However, when it comes to one Julio Jones, life is a different story. Saban says that Julio has set the bar for wide receivers at Alabama, and according to casual observers this spring…Julio is better than ever! Better? Sounds like good news for Tide fans!

In respect to the spring game, like last season, it will be the first team offense/second team defense vs. the second team offense/first team defense.

Due to injury, six Tide players will either be out of action or very limited for Saturday’s game. ‘Bama center William Vlachos and defensive end Milton Talbert have been extremely limited due to off-season surgeries. However, both players will be at full speed when fall camp begins in August.

Other notable injuries include receivers Earl Alexander and Mike Bowman. The injuries to both Alexander and Bowman are pesky to say the least. Alexander is dealing with a stress fracture, and Bowman is dealing with a stomach strain, which is similar to the injury that hampered former ‘Bama running back Terry Grant in 2009.

In other news, junior safety Mark Barron has been named as one of the 42 players on the 2010 Lott Trophy watch list. The honor is named after former NFL defensive back Ronnie Lott. The winner of the coveted award will be announced in December and the individual who takes home the trophy receives $25,000 for his school’s general scholarship fund.

Tide fans may recall former ‘Bama linebacker DeMeco Ryans took home the honor in 2005.

Who would you put on the Alabama Team of the Decade? Well, ‘BAMA Magazine asked fans via ballots to compile a list of the best! Do you agree with the results?

WR Julio Jones (2008-09)
WR Tyrone Prothro (2003-05)
OL Mike Johnson (2006-09)
OL Andre Smith (2006-08)
OL Wesley Britt (2001-04)
OL Justin Smiley (2001-03)
C Antoine Caldwell (2005-08)
QB Brodie Croyle (2002-05)
RB Mark Ingram (2008-09)
RB Glen Coffee (2005-08)
TE Terry Jones Jr. (1998-01)

DL Terrence Cody (2008-09)
DL Jarret Johnson (1999-02)
DL Antwan Odom (2000-03)
LB Rolando McClain (2007-09)
LB DeMeco Ryans (2002-05)
LB Saleem Rasheed (1999-01)
LB Freddie Roach (2002-05)
DB Javier Arenas (2006-09)
DB Rashad Johnson (2005-08)
DB Roman Harper (2002-05)
DB Charlie Peprah (2002-05)

PK Leigh Tiffin (2006-09)
P Lane Bearden (1999-02)

LB Rolando McClain

Finally, click HERE to see the “BAMA BLING” the Tide is set to receive for the 2009 national title. When you can’t make a fist, one could assume…life is good!

Next week I will have a full recap of the annual spring game, and I'll also provide pictures of the #00 Aaron's/Alabama Crimson Tide Camry which is set to be driven by NASCAR driver David Reutimann at Talladega.

No comments:

Post a Comment